Offering of the Hours

5

If He so wills, God can draw His glory from our most insignificant actions.

~ St. Margaret Mary Alacoqué

35a24c112dafd650b3667d63c9b4f347

       Easter has always been a time to stand down and reflect on the lessons of Lent. But it doesn’t come easy this year. So many needs have come to my attention, open wounds and tears in need of Jesus’ touch.

       With some, I sensed the need to pray specific prayers. At Easter, came the mystical tug to return to the prayer of the Voice of the Precious Blood for a few people. For a number of others, I felt the call to pray throughout the day – never an easy thing for me as I’m seldom recollected. Still, the angel was quick to remind me that by making an offering of my day with all the random littles that come with each hour, I would be praying all hours of the day.

       Today, on yet another Luminous Thursday, my beloved friend, St. Margaret Mary Alacoqué, comes to confirm that this offering of the hours is indeed the asking of heaven for the hospitals of need throughout the world.

       As the shifting winds thread their notes through the trees, a thought comes to me. Is it the rustle of wings I’m hearing, of angels come to collect every tiny prayer of every hour?

       As if in answer, the winds soar in a sudden rise towards the heavens, bringing a smile to my heart.

4 comments

  1. Beautiful post! I do believe the ‘little things’ are never really little at all. Wishing you blessings in these springtime days. I often think of the wind and how it moves this way and that, and so it is with the Holy Spirit. We must be open at all times to that Holy Wind within us. It stirs our hearts, our every little prayer. It all matters…day to day, moment to moment, through all eternity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have said it so much better, Linda. Yes, little as some offerings may seem, they have their weight in gold in the eyes of God. We might not know that but the Holy Spirit will and He will let us know.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment