Lent 20 ~ At the Right Time

By Jan Meeus for Unsplash

At the right time the path will open before you, and you will have a great joy in following it. Everything will be clear, because all will have been prepared in advance by the foresight of My merciful love and by the interventions of My most holy Mother. On that day you will have nothing to fear. ~ In Sinu Jesu, page 10

20

          Just before Lent, I began to sense a call to use In Sinu Jesu, When Heart Speaks to Heart again during this Lent. The book is a compilation of journal entries by a Benedictine monk who believed Jesus was speaking to him. My journey with this book began a few years ago and has often been miraculous. I say often and not always because there have been long stretches when the words in the book did not speak to my heart, when they were not meant for me for the time, words for the priest, not Jesus’ words to me.

          On the First Saturday of this March, on a day when I try to consecrate my hours to Our Lady, I said a prayer to Jesus just before sunset Mass that day. Tracing the Sign of the Cross over both my ears, I asked Jesus to let me hear His voice. Even if it was to be a rebuke for my sins, I wanted to hear my Lord. Just before Mass began, I opened my copy of In Sinu Jesu. To my chagrin, I realised that since I had been reading the pdf version of the book, I had not bookmarked my physical copy in tandem to my pdf progress. So, I didn’t know where I had last stopped. Just about to go in search, a thought came to me that maybe I should just trust and read the page I had opened to. Maybe Jesus had a reason for all of this.

          My eyes falling on the page I had opened to, I saw the entry was written on the vigil of the anniversary of the Great Fatima Miracle. This being the first Saturday of the month, the reference to Our Lady was for me a sign that it was indeed the page to be read for the day. The next sign came in answer to my prayer: to have my sin drawn up before me. And it came through the exhortation to recite the Rosary with attention and love, a very gentle chiding for the occasions when I had recited the prayer rather carelessly. Resolving to mend my ways, I was even more certain that the page of the book was meant for today’s reading.

          Then, came the unexpected.

At the right time the path will open before you, and you will have a great joy in following it. Everything will be clear, because all will have been prepared in advance by the foresight of My merciful love and by the interventions of My most holy Mother. On that day you will have nothing to fear.

          On this special day, Jesus had come to tell me that our days ahead have been ordained and, set in its place and in its special time by our Lord Himself and His beloved Mother. In my reading for this Lent, I have definitely read these words before and gone way ahead. Yet, on this day when rains descend unexpectedly, on Mother Mary’s day of the 1st Saturday of the month of blooms, the month when spring signals its coming, I am returned to this page, to these words, to a hope for the future I cannot see.

Beloved, do not trust every spirit but test the spirits to see whether they belong to God… ~ 1 John 4:1

Naturally, as wonderful as the words were, I needed to make sure they were for me. Almost instantly, yet another little sign was given. Where once before I had almost constantly wondered about my husband’s and my future, about the increasing struggles to remain in our jobs and if we would ever leave this town, now, the moment my thoughts returned to those concerns, I sensed a deep, deep sense of security. A profound sense of certainty that everything was being taken care of, in quiet and in gentleness, in a way no one on earth could.

        I knew then, in a way different to before, that Jesus and Mother Mary were indeed already in our future, way, way ahead of us, waiting for when it would be right to reveal all.

6 comments

    1. Yes, I too believe an angel was present beside me at Mass that day, helping me to release into the Heart of Jesus my many thoughts and prayer intentions. If not for that, I’d have missed a lot, as always.

      Like

  1. Caitlynne, I have come here today because of what you said to me on my blog about God needing my suffering. I have to come with the help of someone else because I am totally blind and now see only blackness. I was so surprised to read your post of today, for two reasons. The first was your mention of Fatima, and I think you will know why that made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. Fatima has always been precious to me. The second is your mention of In Sinu Jesu. I have that book too and it was a very special and precious book to me. I can no longer read it though with being completely blind now. I am going to see if I can get it in Kindle or audiobooks, and I will read it again. There is much much that I can say and would like to say but it is far too much for here. When you approached me on my blog today telling me that God needed my suffering, it felt like an angel had come from heaven. I can no longer get to mass and have not received since way before the pandemic began, as the priest refused to come here we have been denied the Eucharist for a long time and that has been a huge part of the suffering I have undergone. I had to think very hard about what your words to me today meant. Thank you for being an Angel

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad my comment was of some help. I was on the fence about telling you that God has need of your suffering. It’s never an easy thing to hear, much less to accept. It’s very sad to hear about the denial of the Eucharist to the homebound. I will pray for an angel to bring the Lord to you.

      Like

  2. Oh Caitlynne. I am almost dropping to the ground. I discovered that I already had In Sinu Jesu in my Kindle library and I asked Alexa to start reading it for me, and she resumed reading exactly where I had left off some years ago. I could hardly believe it when she said the word Fatima and also it went on to say the words that you have said in your post above. About the way opening up etc. i I have no idea what is happening here but it is a miracle. Your message to me today was timely for many many reasons whichI would love to explain but it is a bit long. Still the priest would not bring Holy Communion to our house a few weeks ago. But that is just part of it. I had gone off the path. The path as given at Fatima where Our Lady called for souls who were prepared to suffer. I had gone way way off it because no one understood it and I began to lose faith in it. I started to believe it was the wrong path. And yet that path had given me the greatest peace that I had ever known in my life. My life has been one long long one of great and intense suffering and this path was the only one that gave me peace because it gave value to my suffering. It was not just for nothing. I am still trying to take this in this evening. I think you were God’s angel to me today but I need time to assimilate it all. I hardly dare write what I have written but I just had to tell you once I heard those words from the book, which were the words you had spoken fro the book. Amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just as stunned here, Lorraine! Indeed everything comes to be seen in its time, not a moment before, not a moment later. Your testimony also encourages me to keep on making the time to read In Sinu Jesu. May God’s light guide us both. I’ve started praying to St Jude, St Ann and Blessed Carlos Arcutis of the Holy Eucharist for a miracle for you.

      Like

Leave a comment