Lent 23 ~ Sometimes This is Why

Nennieinszweidrei

          There are times when things which happen to us or the way we feel, make little sense.

          Take yesterday’s meeting, for example. Honestly, I’ve been through some real bad ones where I’ve prayed and prayed for God’s help to get me through. I’ve been through sessions that have left my spirit seemingly lacerated. One encounter with my former superior where he insisted that I read a booklet he had given me on the errors of Christianity, written by a Muslim, left me feeling violated. It was not that he violated my faith. He could never do that. But his act left me feeling that way. The ensuing suffering was something I had never experienced before, and it took a special praying over session by my then parish priest to cleanse and to heal me.

          But yesterday’s meeting was absolutely fine by comparison – and yet, it rendered me sandpaper-roughened within. Thankfully, St Joseph came to the rescue, and by nightfall, all was well with me.

          Yet, I continued to ponder – why did I feel the way I did after that meeting? When nothing hurting had happened. When nothing more burdensome than usual was placed upon us.

          Today, I chanced across an article by Msgr. Stephen Rossetti – Demons Drain Our Energy which I believe holds the answer as to why some encounters leave us feeling the way we do, in the absence of other reasons. Thankfully, Father offers hope of the immutable power of prayer to overcome everything, which I certainly agree with. How many times I have been helped through the prayers of dear, dear friends and loved ones. How many times those heartfelt prayers have gotten me across the Jordans of my life.

          Today’s lesson is a sobering reminder of how important it is to pray for others.

          For we can never be sure what they’re contending against.

Leave a comment