Lent 15 ~ Rescue Them Too, Lord

15

But my trust is in You, O LORD;
I say, “You are my God.”
In Your hands is my destiny; rescue me
from the clutches of my enemies and my persecutors.   ~  Psalm 31: 15 – 16

15a

          Early this morning, I had a fleeting dream. A dream of some kind of work situation but the details escape me – save for one: in my dream, I saw a former my work superior. A bully whom I lived in fear of. The one I’ve written about many times before, whose narcissism and jealousy almost destroyed me many times throughout the more than 20 years of working together.

          During those traumatic years, I learned to flee to God each time I was stung by this man’s poison. One day, though, God began to ask that I pray for the man’s conversion. Frankly, that was the last thing I cared about. All I wanted was to see him go someplace far. But God was insistent that I begin praying even as he continued to hurt me and others. That made it so much harder for me to pray gentle prayers. But, after quite a bit of inner struggle, with the help of dear, dear souls, I began to be able to. Still, it never stopped me from still praying that I be rid of him. Then came the day, in nothing short of a miracle, when this man was transferred out of our organization. With him gone, peace came to live in our workplace.

          This morning, encountering him again in the dream, I felt it had to do with my reflection the previous day. But a shadow of doubt still lingered. Later, at my altar in morning prayer, I prayed and consecrated myself to St Joseph the Worker, as I always do on Wednesdays. Usually, I pray for help and miracles for my husband’s job and mine.

          Today, though, in a gentle way, it came to me that I should pray for all who still suffer work abuses, who suffer working under bosses and superiors and colleagues who are themselves yoked to the tyrannies of narcissism and jealousy.

And then, I knew why the dream had come.

I had been freed from my abuser for almost a year, yet, in my incredible selfishness, forgotten those who still remained imprisoned.

          And so, I consecrate all those still in prisons to St Joseph, to be presented to the Heart of Jesus, praying with the psalmist,

But my trust is in You, O LORD;
I say, “You are my God.”
In Your hands is the destiny of the remaining prisoners; rescue them
from the clutches of their enemies and their persecutors;

Rescue them as You rescued me.

9 comments

  1. Amen! That is what I did. I prayed that St. Joseph would watch over all who toiled in chains. And then I prayed that SWMNBN would be given peace… It finally worked! I hope that peace comes to you and yours and that work becomes an act of thanksgiving and praise! 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻🤗🤗🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember well how many times you brought St Joseph to me. Each time, he helped me through the churning waters, each time he taught me something. Slowly getting there praise-wise but I think I have a long way to go to offer up more thanks for my job. Bless you for reminding me about that. I will work on it.

      Like

  2. Good for you! This reminds me of a post by another wonderful blogger, who after her cancer went into remission realized that she should now spend her time “Bringing water to those who were still in the fire.” Our pain can help us understand the pain of others, and when we’re finally free, I do think it’s our duty to try to help those who are still in pain. I’m not surprised you’re doing this, because you are such a kind and empathetic soul!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ann, bless you for this comment.Bringing water to those who were still in the fire is such a beautiful and profound phrasing of one’s mission. Incidentally, in today’s Gospel reading about Lazarus and the rich man, there’s a reference to water for parched lips. It struck me that we have only this earthly lifetime given to us to bring water to all who need it, and as you say, use our pain to understand others. That brave blogger is doing just that, turning pain into something more beautiful.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh CaitlynneGrace, I too struggle with praying for people I’d sooner be ‘rid’ of in this life. They aren’t people I know personally but those I see tormenting and cursing and ruining the lives of others. And I have been feeling the need to pray for God’s light to shine in their lives that they too could be free. I am grateful for your story and the way it turned out. Thank you for the beautiful example! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for letting me know, Brenda. We all struggle to pray right but some prefer to leave that part out and highlight only the triumphs. I try to write about my struggles just so others know they’re not alone in their difficulties to obey God. I believe God understands what we struggle with. He knows what we can or can’t do immediately. Hence, He leads us on little journeys to each point of prayer. Some journeys take only a moment, others, well longer. But we get there eventually because we are drawn forwards by His Will.

      Like

Leave a comment