Lent 29 ~ It Has Begun

29a

          Just before the turn of the year, an unseen finger wrote 4 little words on my heart,

Things will get better

And a little later, a dear friend unexpectedly told me, God opened a way for me when there seemed to be no way. Then, last Sunday, in his sermon, our priest said words to the same effect, When you least expect it, God will put out a hand and pull you up. Hearing the priest’s words, I recalled the promises given to me in December last year, in the month made sacred by the greatest miracle of all – the birth of the Child King. And a tiny spark of excitement touched my spirit once more and hope came to roost within me. What lies ahead? I wondered.

          Today, without any warning, some of my colleagues got together and initiated a change in our workstation placements. Although I had been very unhappy for many years with our previous open seating arrangement because of the lack of privacy and the easy intrusion of unwelcome distractions, I was nevertheless wary that today’s change would cause further troubles.

          I needn’t have worried. I think the positioning modifications will work out well. I’m getting back my privacy and exposure to intrusions will likely be lessened.

          Overwhelmed by so many little things at work, I didn’t have the time to process what had happened. But later, in the welcome quiet of my home, I realised a little miracle had taken place at work earlier. The swiftness of the change and the generally happy response told me that behind the few who executed the changes was Someone unseen, directing our steps towards the way of peace.

          On a day when friends have begun reporting tiny signs of spring breaking through winter’s long stay, I have my little miracle as well to contribute to the quilt of hope made up of all the precious stories from around the world.

          Although other mountains may loom ever tall before us, spring is coming, in more ways than one.

          It has begun.

5 comments

Leave a comment