Lent 31 ~ Live Inside This Hidden Heart

31

          Today, my Friday morning prayer at the altar was to shelter within Christ’s fifth wound, the wound through His side which pierced His Heart. Ever since I had a dream some years ago, where my husband and I with our kids then, all dressed in wedding finery, entering a church from a side entrance, I have known that this fifth wound of Christ’s holds a special meaning for us. One day, in its fullness, I will understand what it means for us. Today, though, it was merely a prayer of obedience from me.

          Much later, nearing the end of languid hours, a random encounter with this verse from Revelations, Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, [then] I will enter his house and dine with him, and he with Me (Revelations 3:20), made me back up to a little before. And my eyes fell upon these other verses,

Because you have kept my message of endurance, I will keep you safe in the time of trial that is going to come to the whole world to test the inhabitants of the earth.
I am coming quickly. Hold fast to what you have, so that no one may take your crown.

~ Revelations 3: 10 – 11

          My heart beat on steadily and my spirit discerned no strong movement upon its folds. Yet, on this day that hums slowly its gentle melody, I somehow knew that Someone had come to remind me that this life belongs not to me. That there must, as ever be, a caution within that life must be lived for God and God alone. In fun and laughter, in good work done, in struggles and difficulties weathered, in all decisions to do or not to do anything – everything must be done for the One Who holds us all close to His still beating heart.

          And then, it became clear. On a day when I’ve mostly done all the right things, sadly, there was an occasion when I chose to not attend to something for which I have no excuse for neglecting. It was a moment of wrong. And for choosing to live some minutes in a way that’s fine with this fallen world, God had sent the angel to tell me that I must never live outside my home in the fifth wound of my Jesus. To do it is to give away my crown. For the world’s ways are never our God’s. What is condoned in earthly sight can be sin in God’s eyes.

          My simple morning prayer to be sheltered in Jesus’ Heart has been answered. The angel’s arrow of remorse finds its mark upon my heart tonight.

          Every moment of life must always, always be lived inside this hidden Heart within our hearts, the Heart of Jesus.

6 comments

  1. We belong to God. We are His children. This is the blessed peace we have through our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. His everlasting light and love shines within us….It is a light that fills our hearts with joy. The days come and go, but the light will never fail us. Only His light is forever and ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yesterday there was an instant when I forgot that I belonged to God and lived on my own terms. Even if we have done nothing wrong by the world’s standards, we must, as you said, live by the Light that fills our hearts.

      Like

  2. I had to take cookies to church for the 1st Communion Boutique (there was a dress and suit sale where outgrown dresses and suits were sold to this year’s group). I found a recipe for a chocolate cookie adorned with 5 chocolate chips on top – to represent the 5 wounds of Christ! I baked them last night and delivered them today and have been meditating on the 5 wounds all day!! I guess we are on a similar wave length…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment