Lent 7 ~ Entering to Occupy

4

Moses said to the people:
“Today I have set before you
life and prosperity, death and doom.
If you obey the commandments of the LORD, your God,
which I enjoin on you today,
loving Him, and walking in His ways,
and keeping His commandments, statutes and decrees,
you will live and grow numerous,
and the LORD, your God,
will bless you in the land you are entering to occupy.   ~  Deuteronomy 30: 15 – 16

          Last night, my daughter had her laptop open, and I caught sight of her desktop background: of wide-open spaces of lush farmlands, in gentle repose, dotted by homesteads here and there. She was amused by my interest in the picture, but she couldn’t have known why.

          I have a dream which I keep mostly hidden deep within my heart. Everything in this dream is related to the difficulties we have been enduring for years now. My dream is that someday soon, we will leave where we live now and start afresh somewhere closer to where our older kids are. A home on a wee orchard maybe, shared with the birds of the land. A space for trees and flowers and vegetables. Maybe a freshwater fishpond too. Gentle walking routes, the sounds of the winds living among old trees. Our neighbours at a distance yet close enough for late-life yet enduring friendships. A quiet yet thriving church we can truly be a part of, where daily visits to see God are finally possible.

          Although, I’ve scoured countless ads and homeownership websites, our dream land appears to be just that – a dream. The one possible location I’ve come across is well out of reach for us financially.

          Hence, when Deuteronomy 30 returned, my heart quickened to the hope they bore. I knew well that those verses speak of heaven. Still, a small voice within me asked, Will God make possible an earthly version of the promised land for us here, in what will likely be our final home?

          In answer, I found myself leaning towards hope. Mingled with hope was also the concern that my hopes could be dashed and then, I’d have to deal with the fallout from broken dreams. But despite the very real possibility that we’d never move, I still couldn’t let go. It was as if the hope gave life, gave me something to look forwards to.

          Then, a few months ago, I began an occasional prayer to St Joseph, to build us our home. That made me feel as if I’d reached some cove of safety because tucked into that prayer was a knowing that if it didn’t work out, since I’ve entrusted our future to St Joseph who has guided me so much over the years, I would ultimately be alright.

          This, for me, is the pertinent difference between hope and hope that is placed in God’s heart. By turning it over to St Joseph, if it is meant to be, God will shape the future just right for us. Perhaps there might not be a fishpond or even an orchard or something else equally dear to me but because it’s in God’s hands now, He will give us what we need and help me through any disappointment.

          But if the entire dream is not to be, entrusting into the Heart of the One who loves us means that on the day of my disappointment, God will take my hand and wipe my tears away, as He always has.

          With that comfort, I dream on.

8 comments

  1. I will also add your hope to my prayers. It is funny but when we pray for the benefit of others it seems that God takes those prayers to heart rather than when we pray for something for our own benefit…. at least that is what I’ve experienced!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do believe that God blesses our every footstep, and our every breath. There is nothing that we cannot bring to him, our hopes, our dreams, our fears. Our Heavenly Father always knows what is best for us. Praying for you in these days…remember that in times of waiting and uncertainty to find calm and comfort in the little things. At times in my life when I was so very sad, or confused about something, my mother always said that I should brew a cup of tea…and say a little prayer. Such good advice, yes? So much love in her sentiments. I have to say, I always felt better when I took her advice. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Linda, you have no idea how timely and helpful this comment was. For the issue of my dream home and also for the tough days here. The words, in times of waiting and uncertainty to find calm and comfort in the little things pierced my spirit with its sweetness. Just as your precious mother taught you to comfort your heart in troubling times, so have you done for me now. I’ve been quite stressed all of today, working on my studies. Writing and writing away and then was told that additional work needs to be done when I just cannot imagine doing more. I kept on repeating, Jesus, I will trust in You and the hours passed. I just hit the bottom of the energy barrel now and there, waiting for me were your words telling me to put aside my work and to seek calm and comfort. I will now go for a little walk and commune with the angels. May God bless you always, Linda.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am so happy that my comment was helpful! My dear mom always told me, “Just say what is on your heart…God is always listening.” It does not matter the hour or the day, only that God is our constant support.” We do so need that daily walk, that peace that only our Heavenly Father can bring. May God bless you always as well. Oftentimes, your posts have given me inspiration. You have a gift of ‘seeing’ that is so wonderful. It is a very special gift and you share it through your writing. Keep sharing this gift, knowing that you help others. Your last comment shows this so clearly…”I will go now for a little walk and commune with the angels.” The angels are there upon your path, but it is your ‘sight’ that makes it possible for you to understand that.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Just say what is on your heart…God is always listening.
        I wish I’d known that years ago. But I do now so that’s alright. And yes, God does speak to us, gosh, He does! Some hear Him better than others. Some hear Him plainly. Some, like me, will need to write in order to hear and to understand😁

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Praying that you are able to move to a new home that meets all your dreams, and I know that in God’s own time, it will come true. You are so right: the way to happiness lies in being honest with God about what we want, and then being obedient to God’s will in what we actually get. One way or another, it works out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment