There Will Be Miracles

Miracles

          Just after Christmas, I read a story titled, A Bell Ringer’s Promise. It was a story of helplessness and yet, of wanting to bring joy to others too. Of being empty and yet, of wanting to fill others with good things. In the quiet hours after Christmas, I found myself leaning against the window to this story, looking in on that poor mother, having so little but trying to make things stretch, all out for the joy of others.

          As the story wound to its miracle end, I heard someone tap on the window to my own heart, and I realised that I had seen something appear at least twice in the story. As I scanned the story over once more, I saw what I had missed.

4 little words,

Things will get better

          Electric shocks shot through my body.

          Knowing how forlorn I was feeling about the inevitable return to work for me and for my equally worn-out husband, God had sent His angel to chime a mystical bell for me, to give me His promise of better days ahead. Tucking now that precious promise into my heart, even as I remained uncertain, the hours thereafter brightened.

          From that day on, all through the short holiday from home that we took as a family, I kept thinking about those 4 wee words, sitting quietly upon my heart like a contended child. Upon our return home, a dear old friend who had emigrated to New Zealand texted me and in a few short minutes, we caught up on each other’s lives. Later, though, as we took leave of each other’s company, a small rose from my friend detached itself from the bouquet we had shared,

God opened a way for me when there seemed to be no way

          Is God saying something to me again? I couldn’t help but wonder. When chill winds had circled my heart that day after Christmas, He had quietly whispered, Things will get better. Then, because it was He Who had created me, God must have known that all I would perceive would be mountain after mountain in the weave of roads ahead. He must have known that despite His first promise, desolation and hopelessness would inevitably make its way back to my heart when my superiors from work chose to ignore our right to rest and texted about work to us all. Because of that, was He now bringing His word to me a second time, through this beautiful messenger?

Was God saying, I will open a way where none seems possible?

          I went to take short nap to allow the angels to sort out my heart. As I lay down, I sent up a little prayer to Mother Mary. Our Lady, if God is indeed making me a 2nd promise, could you please confirm it for me?

          Awakening shortly, I heard the strains of a song being sung from deep within my mind. It took a while, but I finally recognised it as the chorus from Susan Boyle’s Miracle Hymn,

There are miracles all aroundMiracles here to be foundHid in every heart is an answered prayerLike a candle’s flame, hope will lead us there

          Our Lady had indeed come to confirm God’s promise of a miracle.

          Then, when a lone blue-caped kingfisher, long missing from our land, sounded his shrill call in a sudden appearance, I knew that even the birds knew this to be true,

There will be miracles!

Happy, happy New Year to everyone!

http://

17 comments

    1. I had to smile at this, Nancy. When life seems a long haul of suffering, we tend to forget that our God is a God of Miracles. But He is that and more. Happy New Year and may you see and know each miracle that comes your way.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Linda! I must say that there’s some kind of vibe emanating from this particular post and it’s hitting me strongly as well, as if someone else has written the words to this. I pray this is a sign from God for us all. These are times when we need powerful hope – and as many miracles as possible. Happy New Year, Linda.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do believe that miracles abound, as many as the stars in the heavens each day. We must be watchful, as we could miss a shooting star in our midst. As scripture promises, with God, “All things are possible.” Blessings flow endlessly, like a river without end. We are not fully aware of all that the river holds day to day. Sadly, there are gifts we never open. (Something we all must work on.)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Indeed, I know I have missed perceiving many miracles due to preoccupations. If I understood it right, if it’s to be a Christmas Year, then, my spirit must watch ever more deeply for His Word and His miracles.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Yes! How beautiful…a Christmas Year! Watching and waiting is a mysterious and wondrous thing…hearts ever open to God’s love, wisdom, and guidance. It is the little things we often miss, and yet, the little things are so very important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment