Lent 1 ~ Come Home

1

Lent is a time of grace, a time for conversion, a time to come home to God.

~ St. Maximilian Kolbe

          To hear Lent being described as a time to return to God takes the edge off things for me. More than ever, I sense I’m being made aware that it is not about rituals or penances, nor about human lists of weaknesses to overcome, but more like the shedding of burdens as I make my way back into His arms.

          The way home will take the form of many little journeys. Yet, like the poor leper, I must reach my God, divested of the world and emptied of myself.

8 comments

  1. I think you are discovering the true meaning of Lent, and generously sharing it with the rest of us. Thank you for that…. Spiritual journeys are meant to be shared, I believe, because we can learn so much from each other!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment