Lent 6 ~ The Other Way

6b

          Years ago, I was upset that some extended family members were making it very difficult for me to love them as I wished to – to cook and care for them, open my home to them. Then, one morning, exhausted from my pain and brokenness – I clearly heard Jesus’ still voice, There will be other ways to love them.

          Reluctantly, over time, I began to try to let go of my ways of wanting to love and instead, tried following the “other way” God had set out for me. I wept many tears over this other way. God’s way or not, because it was so different from what I had expected and wanted to do, because it was so different from what even society expected of me, I was riddled with guilt. Many wise people have written that when we follow God, the burdens fall from our shoulders. I have said the same myself – except that I didn’t realise that there is often a transition period – where the heart trains itself to let go of the old in order to embrace the new. Following God’s way is seldom a direct shift. We often need to make that transition over time and that time can be a difficult one, depending upon how attached to our heart’s desire we are. In my case, that was the reason why I was attacked by guilt and recrimination. Already battling depression, I sank further into the pit because I could not accept that the way I had loved was now wrong.

          One day, in nothing short of a miracle, I found myself opening up to my pastor about my doubts and struggles. This time, God spoke through this humble soul. Fr D firmly told me that the way I wished to love was undermining my marriage. In no uncertain terms, he told me that a marriage ordained by God was a sacrament and that I had a duty to my husband and children to protect that sacrament even if my other family members could not respect that. I had to learn to love these other people differently in order to defend the sacrament from their attacks.

          When I stepped out of Fr’s office, bewildered as I was, I could nevertheless feel a fresh lightness, long missing from my heart for many, many years. Knowing I was struggling to make the change, God had my wise priest help set me on the new road. I then set off tremulously enough but soon my steps became firmer as the bindings to the old ways frayed and ultimately broke. That lesson was a turning point in my life. It was a light from heaven which I slowly learned to take into other pastures of my life.

          There’s always a my-way and a God’s-way. Even in love. Especially in love, I think. I believe that God does not call us to love everyone in the same or even similar ways because some of our my-ways, though seemingly “right”, can be sinful for us – as it was in my case. Some of our my-ways can even be detrimental to others, leading them further into wrong and sin – again, as it was with me. The old my-way of loving which gave me happiness and satisfaction was also ironically, putting my extended family very at ease to continue living in sin. I didn’t see it then, but God certainly did. I might have loved my family, but God loved them – and me – much, much more, which was why He acted to remove both parties from the vicious cycle between love and sin-enabling.

          Looking back on all that I’ve learned and how life has bloomed since, I’m now in a better place of understanding that when God asks that we love others, He asks that we love as He wills it, not as we wish to.

17 comments

  1. It is difficult to take a step back and change how we relate to family. When we are comfortable in the old, we do not see the harm it does. Thank you for sharing your journey, it is helpful to me. God has asked me to change and be obedient to him. The rewards are great when we do what he says.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so touched that you found something here to help you. Changes in regard to family is sometimes the hardest to make because not everything is clearly demarcated into blacks and whites. Worse when it involves love. I will pray for you, Pure Glory.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Caitlynnegrace I loved this post. I’ve always tried to do as God commands since I don’t want to get the “Saul” treatment! But sometimes we do need that slap in the face to get our attention…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😁 I so agree, Val. I’m not the sharpest knife in the drawer, discernment wise. Hence, I’ve gotten that proverbial slap so often I’ve lost count. Never pleasant but in the end, it has always yielded a different sort of peace.

      Like

  3. I am so glad that blessings followed you on your journey. There is so much wisdom to be found when we prayerfully ponder a difficult situation. We can keep doing things ‘our own way’ exclusively, or we can open our hearts to the possibility of change. Change is very hard for most of us, but when God leads the way, all things are possible. (Matthew 19:26)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That was one very wise priest! I’m glad you listened to him, because he’s right. When we try to love only “our” way and not God’s way, we’re not helping anyone, least of all ourselves. Sometimes following God means being open to change, as hard as that can be!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. …following God means being open to change…
      A bit of a shiver went down my spine reading this line because I have noted some intermittent warnings to expect changes. Guess that goes to show how timid I still am and that I still need to work on my trust in God.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment