Lent 3 ~ Loving God for Himself

beach-4182974_1920

O Jesus, my supreme good, I love Thee, not for the sake of the reward which Thou hast promised to those who love Thee, but purely for Thyself. I love Thee above all things that can be loved, above all pleasures, and above myself and all that is not Thee… ~ from Act of Reparation by St Margaret Mary Alacoqué

a

          Any journey towards God will always be made easier by holy obedience. But obedience is my Calvary, like hauling a ton of weight up a mountain trail.

          This morning, this prayer by one of dear heart friends, St Margaret Mary Alacoqué, brings sudden light. The missing factor for me is love. A love so pure that it seeks no reward for itself. A love that gives and gives and is renewed over and over – simply because it gives, seeking nothing in return.

          At the sink doing the dishes this morning, I heard the faintest of strains from the song, Mary, Did You Know? the song of Mary and Jesus, of mother and child. Like a vine of the tiniest wildflowers it passed before my heart and left. I looked at it leave and wondered at its visit.

          Light then fell again. A love that loves God purely for Him and with no furtive eye cast towards a reward is akin to the love of a mother for her baby. St Margaret Mary had come to teach me that obedience is made easier by love. She was now bidding me recall the way I used to hurry to my babies’ needs. Whatever I did for them, it was not so that they would love me in return. I had loved them just for them.

          Again, I wonder how I am to love God in that same way.

          And then I know. If I have welcomed God into my heart, then, whenever I give of my heart to my family without expecting anything in return, I am loving God for Himself.

6 comments

    1. It is not the easiest thing to love without expecting to be loved in some form in return. I manage this very well with strangers, less so with my family because expectation, however small, always seems to come to life at some point. Taking this to God, His surprising response is, Love as I will it, not as you wish to.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A very inspirational look at love! This is always the hitch in being Christ to others – we DO expect love in return or at least acknowledgement. I think this is a wonderful post and one I’m going to share with Sparky….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. To be Christ to others, we have to be Christ – but in the way that He wills, not as we wish. That’s the lesson I learned yesterday. It’s a tough road to follow when we’re so set in our ways.

      Like

Leave a comment