Lent 30 ~ New Roads Out of Old

30

          Today was a day of bright, happy sunshine … alongside some shadows. I went happily to my workstation and got down to work. The flush over new seating partners over, my other colleagues in paired seatings were in a calmer mode which meant that they got busy as well and conversations were to a minimum. Privileged to be on the other side with no one beside me for once, I got some good work done today in much more peace than in the past 5 years.

          And yet, not everything I did brought me joy.

          Much later in the evening, once the sun had set in muted glory, I went back to the day and turned over everything I had done. I had worked hard and yet, there had been a portion of my work that had seemed too much and which had put some people under a certain amount of pressure. Something clearly wasn’t right about my way, even if it was something I had done many times before for many years. Not sure what I could have done to make things better, I turned my day over to Jesus in the Tabernacle, as I visited Him in Poland, at the Divine Mercy Shrine, via livestream.

          Within a few minutes, I began to sense something move almost imperceptibly within the dry leaves inside me.

Make new roads out of the old

It wasn’t a voice or a finger writing something on my heart, but a gentle awareness slipped into my knowing by Someone unseen. And the words made sense too. As spring approaches, not all of the old can remain as always. Some things can indeed be buffed up and pressed into service again, but some would have served their time and must make way for the new.

          That is how life should be. Too often, we cling to that which has passed its time, refusing to believe that God would want to renew anything in our lives. And yet, to be able to move forwards, as we all must, we must be open to the changes that the angels bring to our door. When the sign comes to let something go, we must.

          I’m not exactly sure how to bring about this new season but I know Jesus and Mother Mary sure do. It’s time I take the new lessons of trust I’ve been learning out into fresh pastures, put my hand into Jesus’ and Mary’s and let Them lead me,

          Down new roads where the old once ran

8 comments

Leave a comment