Lent 36 ~ Fear of God

      It’s not easy to reconcile the words, the fear of God, with the image of God as a loving Father. Why fear, I used to wonder.

       Today, hearing of some world events, a phrase began to drum within me,

They had no fear of God

They had no fear of God

They had no fear of God

I turned the words over in my heart and began to think about them and the light they brought to me. The fear of God helps me to remember that as gentle and as loving and as generous as God is, He is fair too. Not just to me, but also to those whom I hurt. If I am negatively secure in my convictions that because God loves me, God will always be in my corner and that anything I do will be alright with Him, I can be in for a surprise. Or shock.

       I believe there is a rope that binds us to God. The harder we pull on that rope through unfairness and injustice, the faster we will come before the seat of Justice – especially those whom God has blessed with so much more than others. Because He loves us, even as He meets our falls with mercy, He does also with justice. For God will not, in His immense love, allow sin to taint us.

       Today, an unlikely singular joy weaves its myriad hymns through the trees, coming to rest upon my heart. Despite a lack of sleep, agitation over happenings in my country and in the world, and concern over my studies, my heart sings and sings. It is so, so odd that I have to pause and run my gaze over the terrain of my heart. Then, a memory comes of my night’s intention – to pray big, “recklessly” even. Suddenly, watching the winds sing, a knowing comes into me. Heaven does indeed want me to pray the big, reckless prayers! The time for it has come for me.

       And so I do, on this final Saturday before Holy Week.

       Individual by individual.

       My family and I.

       The countries on my heart.

       I place them all into the Wound of the Heart of Jesus.

       May His Precious Blood wash over each one. And may the Light of the fear of God burn through the cold.

8 comments

  1. One of my favorite verses Matthew 10: 28 “Do not fear those who kill the body but who cannot kill the soul; rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell.” This verse has informed many decisions and given me the strength to do the right things when it would be easier to just stay silent. Your mantra that they didn’t fear God is so right. The world is broken so I’m going to take your lead and pray the big prayers this coming week too!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true, Val. Since courage does not come easy for many, even to do what is right, it would help to remember that we answer to a Higher Power. Great that you’re joining in the big prayers!

      Like

    1. I’m not very good when it comes to acting out my faith. There’s always fear. And doubt. But there’s one thing I learned last year – a prayer of trust. The words of the actual Divine Mercy prayer are Jesus, I trust in You. But last year, in a time of great testing, my angel tweaked the prayer for me:

      Jesus, I will trust in You

      The addition of that single word made all the difference to me🩷

      Like

Leave a comment