Jesus, Forget and Forgive

uk_glacial_lake_wales_gwynedd_county_snowdonia_region_100866_1920x1080.jpg

          Right after I received the prayer, Heart of Jesus, once in agony, pity the dying, and began saying it, intermittently, I have felt this bubble up in me, unbidden, Forgive me, Lord, I have sinned. I thought it could be to warn me against spiritual pride. And to seek His mercy for my own sinfulness. Or to remind me that I have not done all I should and could for lost and dying souls.

          So, whenever the breezes brushed past my heart, I whispered, Forgive me, Lord, I have sinned. And then, I tried to go back to the prayer, Heart of Jesus, once in agony, pity the dying.

          But I faintly sensed that prayer being lifted away, out of my spirit’s reach. I thought it was perhaps due to my being under the weather recently. But this morning, when I stopped by my daily prayer nook, it became clear, very clear, that I needed to pray the cleansing prayer for myself, because this was what the angel held out to my spirit:

 

Act of Contrition

Forgive me my sins, O Lord, forgive me my sins;

the sins of my youth, the sins of my age, the sins of my soul,

the sins of my body, my idle sins, my serious voluntary sins,

the sins I know, the sins I do not know;

the sins I have concealed so long, and which are now hidden from my memory.

I am truly sorry for every sin, mortal and venial,

for all the sins of my childhood up to the present hour.

I know my sins have wounded Thy Tender Heart, O my Savior.

Let me be freed from the bonds of evil through Thy most bitter Passion, O my Redeemer.

O my Jesus, forget and forgive what I have been.

         

          I want to press this close, till it marks my spirit, to pray it as often as I breathe,

O my Jesus, forget and forgive what I have been.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

