Lent 1 ~ Snatching

small-gold-bell

          I heard the call of three bells in the week before Lent as I prayed for discernment for my Lenten journey.

          The first came through the word, Charity.

          When it first brushed against my spirit, I sniffed and turned away, because in my estimation, I was doing pretty well there. If anything, I needed to say No more often.

          But as it is with everything of heaven, it didn’t leave to flit over to other flowers. It remained like a tiny bell over my spirit, strung on a weave of gossamer, the slightest breeze a-stirring it.

          When the drowsy evening winds had whispered their silvery orange endnotes, and the bell still hadn’t learned silence, I knew I was to face a shadow I never realized was a part of me.

          I turned my heart towards heaven, and with no delay, the waiting angels laid this on my spirit,

Charity from the mind

          As I firmly kept my gaze on the words, the Spirit filtered gentle light through my mind.

          In my relationships with others, every battle of spirit I have faced has been fought in the distant fields of my heart, although each battle had birthed in my mind. Instead of being snuffed out right there in its place of origin, each wounding was sent on its way to my heart, where the battle was often long and drawn out.

          Simply because the fires had been allowed to rage unchecked for far too long.

          The charity I was now being called to was the mental discipline of turning each hurt and negative thought – the very second it budded – to love – through a prayer of Mercy. If I spied a negativity or if anyone hurt me, I had to now immediately wrap that person in a prayer of Mercy.

          There was no time to be wasted. It had to be done swiftly. No weighing of options. No indulging in anger or hurt.

          As I continued to absorb this tutoring, I realized this kind of prayer felt almost like …. Snatching. Quick and abrupt. Snatching soul after soul, and depositing them in the Ark of Grace. And then, moving on to more souls.

          Snatching souls through Charity.

          Snatching…..because time is short.

One comment

Leave a Reply

