Flee to the Hills

10_pm-sd-lwere-caves-8623

          It had been a good two days. Days of prayer and recollection despite the busyness.

          I awoke this morning and looked up at a white mackerel sky. Some streaks of blue~white, but mostly shades of white. It should have brought me happiness to feel the breeze dance of the early morning. I tried to open the windows of my spirit to inhale the breeze blessings.

          But something else touched it.

         A light sense of foreboding. Very light. Touch and go. Here, then gone.

          I shook it off. I had my hand in my Father’s. There was a vineyard to go to. Work to be done.

          An unseen cloud followed me.

          Some hours later, the winds in a high dance, I saw the headlines from various sources. Tumult. Force. Harshness. Denials. Disdain. Protests. Nothing that hadn’t been there in recent days, but today, they took on a darker edge.

          Something began to choke my ribcage. I was overwhelmed, feeling a rush of dark. I felt my breath being crushed, yet, instinctively knew it was not physical. I floundered and struggled for a moment. I could sense screams, unseen hands reaching out in desperation. But they were not the entreaties of Holy Souls that I am familiar with, that I can recognize in a flash. This was different.

          I felt like I had touched Panic. Wild fear. But I didn’t know whose it was.

          Stumbling backwards, I fell on another headline. It didn’t make sense and I didn’t feel that I was called to understand it. But one word stood out like a lighted beacon:

Hill.

          The clamour I was sensing worsened. I had had enough. I backed away to put some distance between that strange fear and myself. I stumbled to my usual spiritual haunts, places – blogs, forums – that I visit seeking God’s voice. And I came to a psalm I had posted some weeks before to calm a sorrowing soul.

Psalm 121
Assurance of God’s Protection
A Song of Ascents.

1 I lift up my eyes to the hills
from where will my help come?
2 My help comes from the Lord,
who made heaven and earth.

          The very moment I saw the word ‘hills’ again, the crushing sense of someone’s terror eased. The desperate grip on my spirit loosened. Lift eyes to the hills. The abode of God. I needed to keep my eyes on God. I wasn’t sure what it meant with regards to the screams I had felt. Were they the screams of the wronged righteous? The disdain from the headlines – were they as wrong as they seemed? Was force justified?

          Whose terror had I touched?

          As I watched the winds from afar, from the relative safety of the foot-Hills, I looked for the serpent’s tempest. Did I sense cheating, lying? Was there a hidden undercurrent of subterfuge? Was something being whipped up, crafted to undermine a good? I searched and searched.

          There was none. No lying. No pretense. The flood of emotions were real. The suffering genuine.

          My spirit remained with the memory of the pain I had touched but I asked the Hills, What do You ask of me, Father? What action? What prayer? They are calling for help, Father. Tell me what to do.

          From behind me, from the hills, I receive an answer I do not expect:

Flee to the hills.

 

 

 

22 comments

  1. God help us. I also am feeling this, Caitlynnegrace. I do not have the spiritual gifts that you have; mine are different – my first gift is faith, also teaching and counsel. I wonder what this means? Is it a call to literally flee to the hills, or is it a call to intense prayer at this time?

    Like

    1. Daughter, truth be told, right now, I’d rather have your gifts; this time, this one turned me upside down. I’ve never been shaken this badly since July 5th and Nov 12 2015 when I had my 1st & 2nd premonition / dream that something was coming. For now, as confirmed by someone dear to me, it is to flee to prayer, and to remain cloistered in it for a time – perhaps, 24 hours at least, and I’m asking God to help me with this since I work fulltime.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, yes. I can imagine this gift would be a very difficult cross. (And I did not mean it that you or others do not have faith. I only meant when I have done my spiritual gifts inventory, this is the charism that comes through as strongest for me – faith. It’s just a gift that has been cultivated by the Master; nothing of my own.) Thank you for your interpretation, that “fleeing to the hills” is meant as prayer.

        All of our gifts are meant to share and to build each other up; I have been keeping you in prayer. Do not worry or get caught up with what you can’t do. God knows what you can do, so offer Him that. Remember St. Teresa’s Little Way.

        I was reading in Luke where Jesus says to “flee to the mountains.” It is right after “When you see Jerusalem surrounded by armies, know that its desolation is at hand.” Jerusalem is indeed surrounded by those who wish to destroy her. Jerusalem is also symbolic of the Church. Many also wish to destroy her in these days. Watch in prayer; watch in prayer. Trust in Jesus. Call on His name, which holds tremendous power. God bless.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No worries, Daughter, no misinterpretation of your comments on my part. I was clear about what you meant, and I still say the same – I wish I had your gifts of faith and counsel. Those are the gifts for the times we are in. But you know what? Your prayers have been heard!! Today, I’m feeling a surge of inner strength, and a clear sense of purpose. I’m no longer fretting about whose pain I was allowed to feel that day. Instead, I now have a determination to bury myself in God, and to whatever He tells me to. I’m tired out from work and struggling to cope with deadlines, yet, strangely, there none of the usual panic. My eyes feel as if they’re fixed on the hills.
        I can tell you for sure, this ain’t me.
        But while the tumult has ‘passed’, in its place is a deep urgency. That’s what I’m feeling now. And that’s what many others have long been feeling too.
        Bless you, Daughter, for being with me. It means much to me to know we have each other.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. This passage has come to me several times recently, Susan. I understand it. And yet I don’t. By an odd turn of events, yesterday, I had reason to look up a saint and in that search, I was led to… I charge you…preach the word, be urgent in season and out of season… For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own likings, and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander into myths. – 2 Tim 4:2-4

        That’s when I understood a little more this sense of urgency I’m feeling. What must be done, must be done now. There will come a time when I might still want to do it, but it will all fall on deaf ears and hardened hearts – be it writing or prayers.

        When you turned me towards Mark 13 today, I’m seeing this too. There’s going to come a time when I need to flee or run to obscurity and can no longer do what my heart yearns for.

        As I write this, my throat tightens, but no other reaction. I cannot see beyond this, Susan.
        What are your thoughts?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. We need to pray for the church. It’s about tribulations of the church. Good is called evil and evil is called good — and we need to be prepared for what that will bring upon us.

        Like

      5. Susan, Woe to pregnant women and nursing mothers in those days. Pray that this does not happen in winter.. I’ve always wondered – why specifically this group of mothers? Winter – specific geographic locations?

        Like

  2. I think we’re in for a rough year, and you have tapped into it. A call to prayer for everyone is needed. Stay vigilant and awake– and ask your Angel to let you know if and when you need to flee to the hills. I’m praying for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Caitlynnegrace
    There may be a winged rememberance from the past that whispers encouragement into today’s ears. Susan’s Sept. 5, 2015 post “Put on the Armor of God” and your comments. Prophetic?
    This was just before your Nov. 12, 2015 premonition.
    I offer my humble prayers tomorrow for safety, security, strength and peace for your spirit in the face of this discord. Be encouraged. We are not alone. We are loved.

    Safe in my Father’s embrace,
    God’s Child

    Liked by 2 people

    1. God’s Child,
      I had to look up Susan’s Sept post and the comments in https://veilofveronica.wordpress.com/2015/09/05/put-on-the-armor-of-god/.

      It was only in August that year that I heard Jesus tell me, Blow the Spirit of My Mother into the realms. I went to several people to understand what it meant. One way I believe the Breath of Mary was blown into the realms of my children was by my regular consecration of them into Her care – not an act of piety; more out of desperation that comes from time to time when caring for them can be overwhelming. Thank you for helping to remind me now to once more consecrate them and other children in my heart, to Our Lady of Fatima.

      There are 2 other things. Today, what reached out to me when I returned to the post & comments, was Susan’s challenge to determine what constitutes our personal armour. I have my ‘staples’, but I need to ask God if there’s anything more. And she mentioned angels too. That’s something that has been lighting up strongly for me recently.

      The other thing is from your comment, God’s Child – All must be taken away so that ALL may be given.Loss. Loss that leads to hope.

      Like

  4. Dear Caitlynne,

    I came here today because I found that you had left me a comment on my blog post from January 16. I always know that I am going to find something deep and spiritual when visiting your blog.

    Last night, I was feeling overwhelmed with the troubles and hardships of this world, not mine, but those of people I don’t even know. I went to bed with a heavy heart. When I get like that, I struggle with my faith, but I woke during the night and prayed. This morning I feel encouraged to put my trust in the hands of the LORD. He knows, even thought I cannot understand His ways. All He does is good. This scripture comes to my mind:

    Psalm 19: 7-11

    7 The law of the Lord is perfect, converting the soul: the testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple.

    8 The statutes of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart: the commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes.

    9 The fear of the Lord is clean, enduring for ever: the judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether.

    10 More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb.

    11 Moreover by them is thy servant warned: and in keeping of them there is great reward.

    I pray that you find the encouragement and answers that you are seeking.

    Much love,
    ♥Hope

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hope, the Psalm didn’t just come to mind. I believe He asked you to give it to me. Much has happened in recent days. Through this Psalm, He is deepening His explanation of the recent days to me.

      And yes, it is the encouragement I needed.
      Thank you so much.

      Like

    1. I’m alright, God’s Child, thank you, I’m alright. But bind yourself to prayers more than ever. Do all and anything you can for souls. Pray for their spirits, God’s Child. Something’s coming. Many folks have already been ‘told’; I am one of the late ones. I don’t know how much time we have.

      But it is beyond anything we have ever endured.

      Like

  5. I know…but we are His and will not be forsaken. If I have much to suffer, I will do as He asks for all who will most need to know love.
    Remember, family first…they are ours from God.
    “…all will be given.”
    God’s Child

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

