Words and Thoughts

42f512430d9b35506728ca3d9b9fa3a6

Let the words of my mouth and the thought of my heart
find favor before You,
O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.   ~   Psalm 19:15

          These lines fell into my heart over the weekend, and they fell in a way that told me I had fallen over these sins, and fallen many a time. Always being one who goes headlong into things, my words and thoughts rule me too often in a way that puts me in a constant shadow.

          For when I burn, I rarely seek the Cross through humility and meekness. 

          Submission to any suffering is not one of my virtues, but the hardest for me must be the Cross of holding my thoughts and words to the standards of purity and sweetness my God wills of me. I used to have a tongue that ran away from my will; it has been tamed much now through age and innumerable humiliations. Yet, what used to be uttered aloud have now found dark life as thoughts hidden in my bosom, lighting fires at will.

          The Lord has now trained His purifying Light upon my words and thoughts and I have been found wanting. From the Atonement prayers I have been struggling to pray, has come my God’s prayer for me ~

Let the words of my mouth and the thought of my heart
find favor before You

Leave a Reply

