When The Greatest Was Before Me

family

For all the times I’ve

taken my family for granted,

carped for no good reason,

soured the day for them with my selfishness,

postponed hugs and kisses;

For all the times I’ve not run to see

the flowers they planted

or the purple ribbon clouds in a sunset sky that ensnared a child,

or the drawers tidied unasked, un-nagged,

or the card trick perfected;

For all the times I’ve

not closed my eyes and allowed their laughter to wreathe roses around my heart,

not sent them off on their day with a prayer,

not overlooked the trivial but magnified them,

not loved them the way God meant them to be loved,

Lord, forgive me.

I press each head and heart into Yours,

Each weep and giggle and whispered secret to You I give,

For gifts to me they are,

Though many I’ve left unopened

Chasing rainbows man held out to me

Seeking gold in mines not meant

When the greatest was before me.

 

 

 

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

