A Desert Song

desert-flower

          This year, I did not prepare for the Feast of the Triumph of the Holy Cross with the novena. I couldn’t get to a church too. I wasn’t too pleased with myself, either. An important feast for the Catholic church and there I was, not dressed for it.

          But it has been a week of some form of spiritual scrubbing. Still struggling to focus on prayers, I began to weary of myself. I was tired of me.

          I wanted me out of my soul.

          I wanted my spirit and my soul scrubbed clean of me. I wanted to be filled only with the Holy Spirit.

          And I found an odd comfort in praying to be emptied of me, to be filled with the Spirit. During prayer, during Rosary meditation, I chased myself out, and asked for an infilling of the Spirit.

          To be honest, nothing happened. I came into the new week, as the one before – feeling empty and bare inside, but not in a draining spiritual/emotional knot. I was clear in my head, able to partake of life with joy and vigour.

          Today, on the Feast of the Triumph of the Holy Cross, feeling like I had done little to receive the feast in my spirit, I prayed a prayer I am learning to pray ~

Help me to love the Cross. Help me to love the Cross.

          Granted, it wasn’t much. My widow’s mite. But it was all I could draw forth with true sincerity.

          Blue-grey storm clouds began to gather by the afternoon. Yet, in the evening, they chose to tip their jars elsewhere. I looked up at the sky and the departing storm carriages, willing to feel the beauty of the soft tangerine pink sunset ribbons sweep over my barren spirit. But the clouds went forwards without a backward glance, and I was left empty at my window.

          It was then that I heard voices sing a song I had long not heard. Unknown voices from a distance, in a solemn choir.

SING A NEW SONG UNTO THE LORD
LET THE SONG BE SUNG FROM MOUNTAIN HIGH
SING A NEW SONG UNTO THE LORD
SINGING ALLELUIA

YAHWEH’S PEOPLE DANCE FOR JOY
O COME BEFORE THE LORD
AND PLAY FOR HIM ON GLAD TAMBORINES
AND LET YOUR TRUMPET SOUND

SING A NEW SONG UNTO THE LORD
LET THE SONG BE SUNG FROM MOUNTAIN HIGH
SING A NEW SONG UNTO THE LORD
SINGING ALLELUIA

RISE, O CHILDREN, FROM YOUR SLEEP
YOUR SAVIOUR NOW HAS COME
HE HAS TURNED YOUR SORROW TO JOY
AND FILLED YOUR SOUL WITH SONG

SING A NEW SONG UNTO THE LORD
LET THE SONG BE SUNG FROM MOUNTAIN HIGH
SING A NEW SONG UNTO THE LORD
SINGING ALLELUIA

GLAD MY SOUL FOR I HAVE SEEN
THE GLORY OF THE LORD
THE TRUMPET SOUNDS THE DEAD SHALL BE RAISED
I KNOW MY SAVIOR LIVES.

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. When we’re feeling low, devoid of any prayers, except perhaps repeating ones we have read or memorised. Why not speak to God on a one-to-one basis and tell Him exactly how we feel right now. He knows already. But like any loving Father He will come to our aid if we ask Him honestly.

    God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did go to God, Victor, but thankfully, not in the usual wild banshee manner that is second nature to me 😀
      I asked to be guided, so I didn’t fall into satan’s hands – if this was his doing. I asked for the grace to stay by the Cross I have often deserted, either wilfully or in a panic.

      The hymn those unseen voices sang to me today was His answer to both questions.

      Again, as before, I pray the angels take this grace to others out there. Let’s keep angels busy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

