LENT 36 ~ Empty Your Cup

Summer-Empty-Shell[1].jpg

          Empty your cup, said the Lord to me, as I flew headlong into the sullen morning that awaited me in the impatience of a hundred tasks. I arrived at work to the news that some people had made foolish decisions that impacted me. Their actions put paid to the hours of work I had put in.

          The light of justified anger flashed.

          Empty your cup, said the Lord instead.

          Stood a long while staring at what lay broken before me. Tempted to rage, I took a deep breath and sighed, and went on to other matters.

           Soon, I found myself in something else. The stubborn hearts of my subordinates stood like an unyielding wall before me. I was tired of being patient, of putting up with irresponsibility and indifference.

          The light of justified anger beckoned once more. I looked at it.

          Empty your cup, said my Lord yet again.

          So I leaned my heart against His breast and drew from His strength; then, turned back to face that same resistance, but with a gentleness foreign to me. 

           I came home, at the wind down of a sandpaper day, stumbling eagerly into a cool welcome and the gentle embrace of a love long gone. On my table awaited a letter from someone whose only purpose in life was to torment and bully. Red-stained memories and the stench of past pains rose before me.

          Empty your cup, said the voice of my Shepherd, cutting through the rising choke.

          I looked with a longing at the dark arms of sin held out beseechingly towards me.

          I bent instead towards my Lord. Thy will be done, I whispered.

 

 

Leave a Reply

