LENT 26 ~ In the Shadow of the Prodigal

frostad-prodigal-son-turning-point[1]

Frostad ~ Prodigal Son Turning Point

 

Mothers watching the door, listening out for a familiar sound, a hesitant call;

Fathers too, tears hidden deep, waiting for the shuffle they know, the shadow of a child long not seen;

Pilgrim souls, journeying through bog and sands, cliffs and drops, trying to keep the faith for ones who do not care enough;

Those who have borne crosses all their life, did all they should, kept the faith, only to be asked to lay to rest their only child;

Faithful and diligent in the vineyards of life, being rewarded with a cancer diagnosis in twilight years;

Too many lifetimes lived in one life, too many shadowed pasts crippling the soul with shame;

Frightened and confused, backed into a sullen corner, believing that there is no Hand held out to us….

         Each soul on earth lives a different life, but a common thread rivers through – every life is part of the collage that is the parable of the Prodigal Son. We are the sorrowing father who chose to love by releasing. We are the son who thought he had the world under his feet, and was then shocked into bitter reality. We are the older one who worked His will in silence but secretly nurtured a clandestine hope of earthly reward in the deepest recesses of his heart.

          We are different people, in different places, yet in the same shadow.

          What is left is to write the same ending of mercy.

 prodigal-son_02[1]

 

 

Prodigal Son   by Father Eugene O’Reilly C.Ss.R

 

  1. Father I have sinned, help me find my way,

Remember not my sins, just let me hear You say

Chorus:

I forgive you, I love you. You are mine, take My hand

Go in peace, sin no more, beloved one.

 

2. Father I have turned, my back and walked away

Depended on my strength, and loved life my own way

Chorus:

I forgive you, I love you. You are mine, take My hand

Go in peace, sin no more, beloved one.

 

3. Father I have closed, my heart to those in need

Thought only of myself, a victim of my greed

Chorus:

I forgive you, I love you. You are mine, take My hand

Go in peace, sin no more, beloved one.

 

4. Father I’ve returned, I’m home with You to stay

Standing by your door, knowing that You’ll say

Chorus:

I forgive you, I love you. You are mine, take My hand

Go in peace, sin no more, beloved one.

Leave a Reply

