WHY HIM?

wallpaper-1861471[1]

This morning, I was doing some online research, intending to write about how people suffering from illnesses and various infirmities have bravely carried their crosses and become a light to others. Slowly, I began to sense a leading, somehow connected to St Francis, Our Lady, Rosary, Healing, Angels and St Raphael…

In a while, unawares, I felt myself gently placed at the feet of Our Lady of the Angels.

I had never heard of this particular devotion before, so, curious about its origins, I continued to search, and it brought me to St Francis and the budding and blooming of A Call…

20130802-082202[1]

The Portiuncula is an ancient church dedicated to Mary under the title Our Lady of the Angels and is located in Assisi, Italy. It was a spot very dear to the heart of Saint Francis. The Portiuncula was an old church dedicated to the Virgin Mother of God which was abandoned. Francis had great devotion to the Queen of the world and when he saw that the church was deserted, he began to live there constantly in order to repair it.  Some attribute the name of the church to the singing of angels which had been frequently heard there. St Francis too heard that the Angels often visited it, so he decided to stay there permanently out of reverence for the angels and love for the Mother of Christ.

He loved this spot more than any other in the world. It was here he began his religious life in a very small way; it is here he came to a happy end. When he was dying, he commended this spot above all others to the friars, because it was most dear to the Blessed Virgin.

This was the place where Saint Francis founded his Order by divine inspiration and it was divine providence which led him to repair three churches before he founded the Order and began to preach the Gospel.

This meant that St Francis progressed from material things to more spiritual achievements, from lesser to greater, in due order, and it gave a prophetic indication of what he would accomplish later.

As he was living there by the church of Our Lady, Francis prayed to her who had conceived the Word, full of grace and truth, begging her insistently and with tears to become his advocate. Then he was granted the true spirit of the Gospel by the intercession of the Mother of mercy and he brought it to fruition.

He embraced the Mother of Our Lord Jesus with indescribable love because, as he said, it was she who made the Lord of majesty our brother, and through her we found mercy. After Christ, he put all his trust in her and took her as his patroness for himself and his friars.

St Francis died, in his cell, not fifteen yards from the church, at sunset on Saturday, 3 October 1226.

Angels-singing-nativity[1]

PRAYER FOR

FAITH, GRACE & THE INTERCESSION OF OUR LADY OF THE ANGELS

Heavenly Father, You filled the heart  of St. Francis with a special love  for the Mother of Your Son, Jesus, and for the Portiuncula. In this hallowed place You nourished his spiritual life and inspired him to found the Franciscan Order.

Through the intercession of Our Lady of the Angels may we be steadfast in our faith and remain true to You.

Grant us the faith and grace always to do Your will.
Grant this through Your Son, Jesus Christ.

AMEN

 Rosebush-Tree[1]

Why was I brought to this, I wonder. To discover that years before his passing, there was a terrible temptation, a deep struggle, and he sought the pain of rose thorns to stay true to his Jesus. To read, for the first time, that St Francis died on the 3rd of October, and to read it on the very day today.

Why was I brought to this, just after the Feast of the Guardian Angels, Oct 2nd? The stillness in my heart, the gentleness in the leading, unseen hands making a path before me, urging me on…

P1000448[1]

Most of all, why this saint for me?

9 comments

  1. Hello, Caitlynngrace. I am happy to have found your site. It is beautiful.
    Thank you for your prayers for healing and reconciliation of my daughter’s marriage. The evidence of a recent change of heart for both her and her husband is a sign of the power of prayer.
    Your focus on quiet prayer and the saints is a holy oasis in a world of noise and distraction. I will come here often. May God bless you and yours. May you know his voice through the love of others.
    God’s Child

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear God’s Child, thank you so much. I hope my blogging can be of help to you as your words and advices have been to me. I am indeed very happy about your daughter’s news. I will continue to pray for all of you, and humbly ask that you keep me and mine in yours.

      Like

  2. Very beautiful post, Caitlynnegrace. Why indeed? I’m sure in time, St. Francis will let you know, or perhaps not; sometimes these things remain a mystery, don’t they? There is much there. I myself am in a parish where we are ministered to by the Conventual Franciscans, so I am quite familiar with the Franciscans, the rule of St. Francis, and the beautiful fruits of his life that are still flourishing today. I also think of our Holy Father, Pope Francis, the Jesuit who took the name Francis, recognizing the need at this time to again rebuild the Lord’s Church. Beautiful musings. I’m glad to have found your blog too.

    Like

    1. I’m glad to welcome you here too, 🙂 I’ve asked St Francis to tell me plainly what I need to know, and as you said, he might or might not. Anyway, now’s a good time as any for me to work on my patience 😀 as I wait for his leading. I think it is so beautiful that an Order features so prominently in your parish. It is certainly a powerful way to learn their rule of life.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Caitlynnegrace,
    What a gorgeous blog you have! I have been reading through some of your posts and your writing style is so beautiful and grace-filled that it’s like reading poetry (which I love)!

    I had a question for you: I saw your comment on my blog post and I was wondering if I could use your comment (without a name attached,of course) in another post about Sloth that I am working on. I found it very insightful and it gives a quick “snapshot” of the effects of sloth. I could just say “from a reader” 🙂 If you’d rather I not use it at all, that’s fine too but I thought I’d ask. I didn’t see any contact info so I hope you don’t mind that I am asking in your comment section.
    Mary

    Like

    1. Hi, Mary. Feel free to use whatever you need. I too feel another article on that is needed. I hope there is some way you can further address that bit about sloth affecting workaholics, because quite a few of us think that it’s all about laziness mostly, which is only the barest tip of a massive iceberg!! Thanks for the kind comments about my work here. What I have here is a part of me that is seen by very few; it’s not a world I allow many into. I guess I just needed some quite space to retreat to where I can hear myself think :-D. I’m so glad you’re blogging again. We all need the support and guidance we can get from fellow Christians 🙂

      Like

  4. Thank you so much, Caitlynnegrace 🙂 I appreciate it! Lots of people think it’s about laziness – I used to as well. I think I addressed the issue of people using work to avoid God in a previous post on sloth but I’ll have to double check. They are often not aware they are doing this. One of the reasons that I feel pressed to blog about sloth is because it is one of the leading causes of despair and I see despair everywhere today. Many people are unaware of this connection and I really want people to have hope.

    You will see me here again! Your blog is wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

