THIS TOO WILL PASS

          raindrops_on_flowers_wallpapersdan.com_download_rain_flowers_wallpaper_1280x1024___wallpoper_[1]

          When there’s a song in my heart and a skip in my walk, I cannot help but wish I had a little more faith to remember the Lord and His goodness on days when the sun doesn’t come out for me. When the clouds gather, worry and anxiety come to nest all too easily within me, the Hand that has been stretched out to me so often in the past becomes a blurred memory.

          And even if I do recall how He has been there for me before, when troubles come, I’m not so sure if He’ll be there again. They say that’s having a “house” built on sand. One that faces easy collapse when the winds come on strong. The first doubt and I’m down.

          But I wonder, is my faith really a house built on sand just because my tread is less assured when grey tinges the horizon? Is faith really about bravado and a strong stride forwards despite everything?

          Or is faith about

Making a journey?

And along the way,

Falling sometimes or falling often?

Crying when the fall hurts?

Not wanting to get up from the ground?

And yet,

after a time,

Pushing to the feet and staggering up

And pressing forwards?

          That would indeed make Faith a journey of many steps. Not merely a decision, or a single resolution, made when the sunflowers tilt their heads in worship of the skies and flowers bloom in wild abandon.

Flowers-Insects-Macro-Sunflowers[1]

          Faith would be the steadfast heart and patient toil, but also the sting in the eyes and the trembling hand holding on to brittle prayer when the skies darken. Faith would be the struggle to tame fear and the whispered prayer that tentatively touches the door of Heaven even when hopes are dim.

6810892-storm-clouds-wallpaper-hd[1]

‘Til the Storm Passes By
by Mosie Lister, 1958

In the dark of the midnight have I oft hid my face,
While the storm howls above me and there’s no hiding place,
‘Mid the crash of the thunder, Precious LORD, hear my cry;
Keep me safe ’til the storm passes by.

Chorus:
‘Til the storm passes over,
‘Til the thunder sounds no more,
‘Til the clouds roll forever from the sky;
Hold me fast, let me stand in the hollow of Thy hand;
Keep me safe ’til the storm passes by.

Many times Satan whispered, ‘There is no need to try;
For there’s no end of sorrow, there’s no hope by and by;’
But I know Thou are with me and tomorrow I’ll rise
Where the storms never darken the skies.

Chorus:
‘Til the storm passes over,
‘Til the thunder sounds no more,
‘Til the clouds roll forever from the sky;
Hold me fast, let me stand in the hollow of Thy hand;
Keep me safe ’til the storm passes by.

When the long night has ended and the storms come no more,
Let me stand in Thy presence on that bright, peaceful shore;
In that land where the tempests never comes, LORD, may I
Dwell with Thee ’til the storm passes by.

Chorus:
‘Til the storm passes over,
‘Til the thunder sounds no more,
‘Til the clouds roll forever from the sky;
Hold me fast, let me stand in the hollow of Thy hand;
Keep me safe ’til the storm passes by.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

